The Pro Football Writers of America named Derrick Henry its 2020 NFL Offensive Player of the Year. Henry led the NFL in rushing for the second consecutive season and helped lead the Tennessee Titans to an AFC South Division Championship.

Henry rushed for a Titans franchise record 2,027 yards and became just the eighth player in NFL history to eclipse the 2,000 yard rushing mark in a single season. Henry also punched in 17 rushing touchdowns to lead the league in that category also.

The PFWA Offensive Player of the Year has been given yearly since 1992. King Henry became the first Tennessee Titans player to win the award and he is the second Crimson Tide alum to take home the honor, following Shaun Alexander in 2006.

"El Tractorcito's" rushing total is the fifth-highest mark in a single season in NFL history. He adds this honor to his Associated Press First Team All-Pro honor that he was given. His season was so impressive that he was also given the Tide 100.9 Bama Pro of the Year after winning "Bama Pro of the Week" a whopping six times this year.

Henry is currently the fourth leading favorite to win the NFL MVP award, he is the top non-QB in terms of odds to win the prestigious award.

The PFWA additionally named Rams defensive tackle its 2020 Defensive Player of the Year and Packers quarterback Aaron Rodgers its 2020 MVP.

Tuscaloosa Thread logo
Enter your number to get our free mobile app


2021 Alabama Crimson Tide Recruiting Class Signees


More From Tuscaloosa Thread