The Philadelphia Eagles announced Monday afternoon that starting quarterback Jalen Hurts will be one of six captains for the 2021 NFL season. Hurts will have one gold star under the "C" logo on his jersey as a first-year captain.

Philadelphia also named Brandon Graham, Fletcher Cox, Jason Kelce, Rodney McLeod and Alex Singleton as captains. These captains were voted on by the players unlike previous years when former head coach Doug Pederson made the selections.

"Those guys have been great leaders since I've gotten here, and they've been great leaders in the past," said head coach Nick Sirianni during Monday's media availability. "I'm really excited for them to lead our football team. When we talked about the roles on the team, that is one of the main roles that they have. Being voted as a captain is a big responsibility when your peers vote you as a captain. I'm excited for the challenge that they have ahead and for them to lead our football team."

Tuscaloosa Thread logo
Get our free mobile app

The 23-year-old quarterback enters his first year as the starter in Philadelphia after replacing Carson Wentz for the final four games of the 2020 season. Last season, Hurts threw for 1,061 yards and accounted for nine total touchdowns.

Hurts has been beloved on and off the field dating back to his early days at the University of Alabama because of his high character and leadership. He was named a team captain in his lone season at Oklahoma despite being on campus for only a few months and now Hurts has quickly become a fan favorite in Philadelphia.

Hurts will be one of three former Alabama quarterbacks starting week one. The Eagles kickoff of their season against the Atlanta Falcons on Sunday, Sep. 12.

The 2021 Alabama Football Schedule in Photos

The 10 Greatest Athletes from Alabama

Starting Alabama Quarterbacks Under Nick Saban

Here is every quarterback that has started for the Crimson Tide under Nick Saban.

Lies Auburn Fans Tell Themselves About Bama Football

More From Tuscaloosa Thread