Alabama guard Jahvon Quinerly has been named one of the 10 finalists for the Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Award.

This award is one of five awards presented by The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame. Each award is associated with one of the five positions in basketball, with a corresponding hall of famer attached to each one.

The Cousy Award has been around since 2004. The first winner was Jameer Nelson of St. Joseph's University. The most recent winner was Ayo Dosunmu from the University of Illinois.

The other four awards have been crowing winners since 2015 and are named after Jerry West, Julius Erving, Karl Malone and Kareem Abdul-Jabbar. An Alabama player has never won any of the awards.

Tuscaloosa Thread logo
Get our free mobile app

Quinerly has now made it to the final 10 for the Bob Cousy Award. The field will be trimmed down to five in late February. The winner will be determined in March by Bob Cousy and the Hall of Fame's selection committee.

Quinerly has played well for the Crimson Tide when the team needed it the most. He led the way with 20 points in the Tide's takedown of the No. 4 Baylor Bears. He leads the team in assists this year (4.3) and is second in points per game (14.6) trailing only Jaden Shackelford (17.2) who was among 20 men on the Jerry West Award list this preseason.

Quinerly played an integral role for Alabama in last year's SEC Tournament. He averaged 15.7 points and shot 59.4% from the field. This culminated in Quinerly earning the title of SEC Tournament Most Outstanding Player in 2021. His contribution was pivotal in the Crimson Tide winning its first SEC tournament since 1991.

Bama All Time Steals

Alabama Men's Basketball's Top Career Rebounders

Top 10 Places to Cure the Munchies in Tuscaloosa

Hey, man--feeling hungry? Check out our list of the ten best places to cure the munchies in Tuscaloosa.


More From Tuscaloosa Thread