On Wednesday night the American Heart Association announced that Alabama head coach Nick Saban has been named the recipient of the Paul "Bear" Bryant coach of the year award.

The award, which was established in 1986, is voted on by the National Media Sports Association and is given to the head coach who contributes to the game both on and off the field. The interesting part of this award is that it is selected and announced after the bowl season ends, unlike other college football awards.

Tuscaloosa Thread logo
Enter your number to get our free mobile app

Saban, who previously won the award back in 2003 with LSU, joins former Alabama head coach Gene Stallings who won the award back in 1992. Saban also becomes only the 2nd coach since the award began to win the award multiple times joining Clemson head coach Dabo Sweeney who has won the award 3 times.

Saban led Alabama to a 13-0 record this season and a National Championship. Off the field, Saban and Miss Terry have their charity called the Nick's Kids Foundation which promotes and supports children, families and teachers in the community. To date, the foundation has donated over 9 million dollars to the community.

Photo Courtesy of Grantshala Editor
Photo Courtesy of Grantshala Editor

Tide 100.9 would like to congratulate Alabama head coach Nick Saban on being the coach of the year in college football this season!

More From Tuscaloosa Thread